These four books present the ministry of Jesus Christ and are known as the historical books. The word "Genesis" means "beginning" or "origin". The New Testament (Ancient Greek: Ἡ Καινὴ Διαθήκη, transl. The Old Testament or Jewish Tanakh is the first book of the Bible. Three of the writers: Matthew, Peter, and John were among the 12 disciples who walked with Christ during his earthly ministry. These 'books' would most likely be the first copies of two or three of the books of the New Testament, just the very beginnings. The name was assigned to it in the Septuagint (the Greek translation of the Hebrew Old Testament). Hē Kainḕ Diathḗkē; Latin: Novum Testamentum) is the second division of the Christian biblical canon, the first being the Old Testament which is based primarily upon the Hebrew Bible.The New Testament discusses the teachings and person of Jesus, as well as events in first-century Christianity. It contains the origin and creation of the universe, the exodus from Egypt, the formation of Israel the Prophets and the Wisdom Books. The book of Matthew presents Jesus as the messiah of the Jewish people. The New Testament contains 27 different books written by nine different authors. Every author of the New Testament was Jewish except for Luke. Perhaps the life of Jesus Christ, written by Mark, and a letter or two of Peter's; fragile, reed-paper rolls, which would tear and crack unless they were handled with the greatest care. The first word in the book of Genesis is "bereshith" which means "in the beginning." The first book of the Bible is the book of Genesis. Genesis: First book of Moses (50 chapters) Exodus: Second Book of Moses (40 chapters) Leviticus: Third Book of Moses (27 chapters) The first four books of the New Testament are the book of Matthew, the book of Mark, the book of Luke and the book of John.